RBI Imposes Monetary Penalties on These Banks, Details Here


October 31, 2023

New Delhi, India


The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has taken regulatory action against five cooperative banks, imposing monetary penalties due to various breaches of compliance guidelines. The move underscores the central bank’s commitment to maintaining the integrity and stability of the banking sector.

Overview of RBI’s Penalties

The RBI recently announced penalties against five cooperative banks for regulatory non-compliance. These banks include Uma Co-operative Bank, Pij People’s Co-operative Bank, Mizoram Co-operative Apex Bank, Birbhum District Central Co-operative Bank, and Shihori Nagarik Sahakari Bank. Each bank faced penalties for distinct breaches of regulatory norms set by the RBI.

Check: Q2 Result

Specific Breaches and Penalties

The penalties levied on these banks were a result of various infractions:

  1. Uma Co-operative Bank: Fined Rs 7.00 lakh for exceeding inter-bank exposure limits.
  2. Pij People’s Co-operative Bank: Penalized Rs 2.00 lakh for failure in periodic risk categorization reviews.
  3. Mizoram Co-operative Apex Bank: Fined Rs 2.00 lakh for surpassing the housing finance exposure limit.
  4. Birbhum District Central Co-operative Bank: Penalized Rs 1.10 lakh for various non-compliance issues, including KYC directions and CIC membership.

RBI’s Regulatory Emphasis

The penalties reflect the RBI’s strong emphasis on adherence to regulatory guidelines. The central bank rigorously monitors banking institutions to ensure they operate within defined limits, maintain risk management protocols, and comply with RBI regulations.

Gold Prices Surge Beyond $2,000 Amid Geopolitical Tensions and FOMC Anticipation

Significance of Regulatory Compliance

Regulatory compliance is vital for the stability and security of the banking sector. Adhering to prescribed limits and guidelines ensures the overall health of financial institutions, protecting the interests of depositors and stakeholders.